How to Manage Tweet Chat Overload

Standard

After participating in my first tweet chat (the #pr20chat, held every Tuesday night from 8 p.m. – 9 p.m.), all I have to say is one word – wow! What a great concept, but how in the world does one keep up with all of the Tweeters participating in the chat? I used www.tweetchat.com to follow the chat, and I still found myself overwhelmed by all of the content. I wanted to participate in the tweet chat to network with other PR professionals, but I found myself hesitating because I did not want say the wrong thing. After the fact, I did something I probably should have done prior to the tweet chat; I Googled how to be involved in a Twitter chat. I wasn’t sure what I would find, but an article titled “Tweet Chats 101: 41 Success Tips for Moderators, Participants & Guests!” had some really great tips. The article suggests finding a Twitter chat you are passionate about, which I definitely agree with. The article also suggests joining in on the chat when you feel comfortable; that way, you won’t become too flustered in the beginning. I recommend taking a look at this article if you are interested in learning the ins and outs of tweet chats. Something I learned after my first Twitter chat experience is don’t try to multitask during the chat (aka watching the new episode of NCIS at the same time) because you’re not giving either activity your full attention.

Overall, my first Twitter chat was a very positive experience. I’ve always heard great things about the #pr20chat, and all of them are true! It covers great topics pertaining to PR (last night’s topic was “work support groups”), and participating professionals were very open to and encouraging of student involvement. I couldn’t help but feel honored every time someone retweeted or replied to one of my tweets. Tweet chats are a great way to network in your industry and to show others that you are social media savvy. I definitely recommend participating in a tweet chat that is related to your professional aspirations. You can find the complete list of ongoing tweet chats here!

Happy chatting!

5 responses »

  1. Emily, I’m so glad you had a positive #pr20chat experience! We always love when students decide to join us. As for feeling overwhelmed, just remember it’s ok if you don’t read *all* the tweets. I hope you’ll join us again — and feel free to chime in at any time! No dumb questions or answers … just share your opinions and experiences. Tweet with you soon! :)

    Heather
    @prTini

  2. I really enjoyed your tweetchat post! I found many of the same things when I particiapated in my first tweet chat! I like the link you posted I found that very helpful and insightful!

  3. It sounds like your first tweet chat experience was an overall success. Not only did you enjoy the topic and chat your were participating in but you also were learning helpful things along the way! After reading your blog post it has made me want to go and check out this chat as well. Its not every day you get to connect with professionals in this field and have them answer your personal questions right on the spot.

Leave a Reply

