The Final Countdown

Standard

Phew! The first month of this semester flew by quickly, and February is off to a quick start as well. I’m both happy and nostalgic about this record-setting pace. Happy because I’ve become severely infected with senioritis, which can only be cured by wearing a cap and gown. Nostalgic because I’m wrapping up the last semester of my undergrad career, never again to pull all-nighters, have the world in the palm of my hand or do all of things that crazy college kids do.

As I’m writing this post, the melody of “The Final Countdown” by Europe is playing in my head on repeat. While the finish line is in sight, there appears to be many hurdles in the path ahead. Will I receive a job right out of college? If I do, what will it be? Where will I live? Will I be financially secure? And, this list of daunting questions goes on and on and on. So, how does one handle the looming stress of graduation? Well, for starters, follow the Graduation Check List. While some of these tips may seem like no-brainers, all are important to check off in order to make this significant life transition as smooth as possible.

As for handling the stress of the infamous “job search,” I’ve yet to find a full-proof method, but am learning from mine and other’s personal experiences. I think the two most important things to keep in mind are start early and network, network, network! Even though graduation is still three months away, it’s never too early to start looking for opportunities. And, you never know who knows who, so be sure to take advantage of networking opportunities.

I wish I had all of the answers. I wish this last semester wasn’t so stressful. But, in the end, I know all of the cover letters, résumés and interviews will be worth it. Until then, I’m going to try to enjoy this final countdown.

Leave a Reply

